Krister "Kris" Hallergard
krister at hallergard dot com
Sandra's Art Gallery

I was born in Karlskoga, Sweden in 1942 where I attended high school. I spent the year 1959/60 at a US high school in Scotia, (upstate) NY as an AFS exchange student. In 1966 I graduated as metallurgical engineer from the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH) in Stockholm.

I worked 1967/75 with stainless steels and high speed tool steels at Stora Specialty Steels in Söderfors, Sweden and 1975/78 I was Chief Metallurgist at Sandvik Rock Tools in Sandviken, Sweden. I then spent the next 11 years abroad with Sandvik as Product Manager (marketing and local production), mainly for Sandvik Rock Tools in S o Paulo, Brazil,   Montr al, Que and Bristol,Va. Part of the time in Brazil I was Product Mgr for Sandvik Wire and Strip and Division Mgr for Sandvik Coromant (cutting tools).

Returning to Falun, Sweden I was MD 1991/93 for Dellner Couplers AB (making railway couplers). I then started my own managing consultancy. Most important tasks were being MD part time 1996-2001 for Ritomex AB, Bjurs s (producer of gearboxes for small electrical motors) and Board Chairman 1998/2003 for Fon m AB, S ter (computer company serving small business and local government).

Krister and his family
Krister and family at a reunion in Uppsala 2012

In 2002 Sandra and I retired and moved to Lytham St Annes on the Irish sea coast, just south of Blackpool.

My activities as
senior citizen in
Lytham St. Annes:
  • Golf
  • Bridge
  • Geneology
  • Reading
  • Computers
  • Multi Media
Golf: I joined the Lytham Green Drive Golf Club. At the end of the 2003 season I developed a severe case of golf elbow (like tennis elbow) and could not possibly hit a golf ball for over 2 years. Since then I have been playing somewhat, though much less than I would want to, mainly at Ribby Hall s 9-hole par-3 course. At the end of the 2008 season I felt pain in the other arm and shoulder after a golf round, so I held off playing for the remainder of the season. This happened again in 2009 and I have not dared play since then, as I still feel some pain.
I enjoyed watching the Women's British Open on site in 2003 and 2005 at the Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club and in 2012 the Men's (British) OPEN.

Bridge: I play bridge about twice a week at Lytham Bridge Club

Geneology: For Sandra's family tree I used Ancestry which has the Censuses from 1841 to 1911 and also FreeBMD for birth, marriage and death certificates from 1837 onwards. I have 8 generations on Sandra's family tree - Sandra is in generation six. The oldest person was born in 1779. For my own family tree I used GenLine, which I believe has been taken over by Ancestry. GenLine used the micro films of the Swedish church records that the Mormons did in the 1950s, which now have been digitalized. I have 10 generations on my family tree - I am in generation eight. The oldest person found was born in 1691.

Computers: I bought my first computer for Xmas 1984, a Tandy. Personal computers were new then, and I made a conscious policy decision that I better get with it. Since then I have renewed my desktop 6 times. My present desktop PC I bought in 2015. In 2012 I got my first Android tablet upgraded a few times to at present Samsung Galaxy TAB 7. And in 2017 we got a Smart TV, Sony Bravia 43". Since my retirement I am spending more time computing as a hobby - less than half of this is now on the PC and over half on the tablet. My main fields of interest are:

A Recent BootMenu